skip to main content
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
University of Mississippi

Sociology Faculty

Permanent Faculty | Adjunct Instructors | Professors Emeriti

Permanent Faculty

Anne Cafer

Anne Cafer

Director, Center for Population Studies, Assistant Professor of Sociology, Co-Director, UM Community First Research Center for Wellbeing and Creative Achievement (CREW)
Ph.D., University of Missouri
Community resilience, health and food systems, rural sociology, mixed methods
Lamar Hall 543  |  662-915-5733
amcafer@olemiss.edu

Miguel Centellas

Miguel Centellas

Croft Instructional Associate Professor of Sociology & International Studies
Ph.D., Western Michigan University
Latin America, Political Sociology, Comparative Democracy, Methods
Lamar Hall 524  |  662-916-3605
mcentell@olemiss.edu

 

Kirsten Dellinger

Kirsten Dellinger

Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, College of Liberal Arts and Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., University of Texas
Gender, Sexuality, Work, Qualitative Methods
Ventress Hall  |  662-915-7178
kdelling@olemiss.edu

Jeff Jackson

Jeffrey T. Jackson

Professor of Sociology and 
Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology, 

Ph.D., University of Texas
Race & Ethnicity, Development, Globalization
Lamar Hall 509  |  662-915-5230
jacksonj@olemiss.edu

Kirk Johnson

Kirk A. Johnson

Professor of Sociology & African American Studies
Ph.D., University of Illinois
Race, Media, Politics
Lamar Hall 508  |  662-915-6505
kjohnson@olemiss.edu

Willa Johnson

Willa M. Johnson

Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Religion (Judaism), the Holocaust, Politics, Race, Gender
Lamar Hall 540  |  662-915-1495
wjohnson@olemiss.edu

Amy McDowell

Amy McDowell

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Religion, Gender & Sexuality, Culture, Qualitative Methods
Lamar Hall 513  |  662-915-1235
mcdowell@olemiss.edu

Albert Nylander

Albert Nylander

Director, McLean Institute for Public Service and Community Engagement
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Mississippi State University
Community Leadership, Education
Howry Hall 311  |  662-915-2052
nylander@olemiss.edu

Minjoo Oh

Minjoo Oh

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., State University of New York
Theory, Identity, Food, Culture
Lamar Hall 526  |  662-915-3454
minjoo@olemiss.edu

John Sonnett

John Sonnett

Associate Chair, Sociology
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., University of Arizona
Methods, Environment, Media, Culture, Theory of Knowledge
Lamar Hall 531  |  662-915-7316
sonnett@olemiss.edu

James Thomas

James M. Thomas

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., University of Missouri
Historical Racism, Inequality, Cultural Production
Lamar Hall 514  |  662-915-7430
jmthoma4@olemiss.edu

Ana Velitchkova

Ana Velitchkova

Croft Assistant Professor of Sociology & International Studies
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Stratification, Globalization, Political Violence
Lamar Hall 525  |  662-915-2504
avelitch@olemiss.edu

Adjunct Instructors

Scott Barretta

Scott Barretta

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology & Anthropology
MA, University of Virginia
Lamar Hall 511  |  662-915-1965
smbarretta@olemiss.edu

William Franks

William M. Franks

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MA, University of Mississippi; MFA, University of Iowa
wmfranks@olemiss.edu

James Hill

James W. Hill

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MS, University of Mississippi
jwhill1@olemiss.edu

Michelle Katterjohn

Michelle Katterjohn

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MA, University of Mississippi; ME, University of Mississippi
mskatter@olemiss.edu

Dianne Lindley

Dianne Lindley

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MA, University of Mississippi
Lamar Hall 511  |  662-915-1965
dlindley@olemiss.edu

 

Professors Emeriti

Vaughn Grisham

Vaughn L. Grisham

Professor Emeritus of Sociology
PhD, University of North Carolina
662-915-7421
vgrisham@olemiss.edu

Elise Lake

Elise S. Lake

Associate Professor Emerita of Sociology
Ph.D, University of Washington
Food, Family, Deviance & Criminality, Social Psychology
662-915-7421
salake@olemiss.edu

Gary Long

Gary Long

Professor Emeritus of Sociology
PhD, State University of New York
662-915-7421
salong@olemiss.edu

Max Williams

Max Warren Williams

Professor Emeritus of Sociology
PhD, Vanderbilt University
662-915-7421
samax@olemiss.edu