Department of Sociology and Anthropology

University of Mississippi

Sociology Faculty

Permanent Faculty | Adjunct Instructors | Professors Emeriti

Permanent Faculty

Anne Cafer

Anne Cafer

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, University of Missouri
Social Change, Food Production & Consumption
Lamar Hall 543  |  662-915-5733
amcafer@olemiss.edu

Miguel Centellas

Miguel Centellas

Croft Instructional Assistant Professor of Sociology & International Studies
Ph.D, Western Michigan University
Latin America, Political Sociology, Comparative Democracy, Methods
Lamar Hall 524  |  662-916-3605
mcentell@olemiss.edu

Kirsten Dellinger

Kirsten Dellinger

Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, University of Texas
Gender, Sexuality, Work, Qualitative Methods
Lamar Hall 510  |  662-915-7327
kdelling@olemiss.edu

Mark Frezzo

Mark Frezzo

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, Binghamton University
Human Rights, Social Movements, Political Economy, Development, Globalization
Lamar Hall 552  |  662-236-4990
DeSoto Campus, Student Services Center, Suite D | 662-393-9290
mvfrezzo@olemiss.edu

Brian Foster

Brian Foster

Assistant Professor of Sociology & Southern Studies
Ph.D, University of North Carolina
Race, Culture, Inequality, Rural US South
Lamar Hall 521  |  662-915-6533
bofoster@olemiss.edu

John Green

John J. Green

Director, Center for Population Studies
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, University of Missouri
Community Development, Rural Sociology, Methods, Demography, Health
Lamar Hall 537  |  662-915-7295
jjgreen@olemiss.edu

Jeff Jackson

Jeffrey T. Jackson

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, University of Texas
Race & Ethnicity, Development, Globalization
Lamar Hall 508  |  662-915-5230
jacksonj@olemiss.edu

Kirk Johnson

Kirk A. Johnson

Associate Professor of Sociology & African American Studies
Ph.D, University of Illinois
Race, Media, Politics
Longstreet Hall 305  |  662-915-6505
Lamar Hall 552  |  662-916-3427
kjohnson@olemiss.edu

Willa Johnson

Willa M. Johnson

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, Vanderbilt University
Religion (Judaism), the Holocaust, Politics, Race, Gender
Lamar Hall 540  |  662-915-1495
wjohnson@olemiss.edu

Elise Lake

Elise S. Lake

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, University of Washington
Food, Family, Deviance & Criminality, Social Psychology
Lamar Hall 539  |  662-915-7737
salake@olemiss.edu

Amy McDowell

Amy McDowell

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, University of Pittsburgh
Religion, Gender & Sexuality, Culture, Qualitative Methods
Lamar Hall 513  |  662-915-1235
mcdowell@olemiss.edu

Albert Nylander

Albert Nylander

Director, McLean Institute for Public Service and Community Engagement
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, Mississippi State University
Community Leadership, Education
Vardaman Hall 319  |  662-915-2052
nylander@olemiss.edu

Minjoo Oh

Minjoo Oh

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, State University of New York
Theory, Identity, Food, Culture
Lamar Hall 526  |  662-915-3454
minjoo@olemiss.edu

John Sonnett

John Sonnett

Associate Chair, Sociology
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, University of Arizona
Methods, Environment, Media, Culture, Theory of Knowledge
Lamar Hall 531  |  662-915-7316
sonnett@olemiss.edu

James Thomas

James M. Thomas

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D, University of Missouri
Historical Racism, Inequality, Cultural Production
Lamar Hall 514  |  662-915-7430
jmthoma4@olemiss.edu

Ana Velitchkova

Ana Velitchkova

Croft Assistant Professor of Sociology & International Studies
Ph.D, University of Notre Dame
Stratification, Globalization, Political Violence
Lamar Hall 525  |  662-915-2504
avelitch@olemiss.edu

Adjunct Instructors

Scott Barretta

Scott Barretta

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology & Anthropology
MA, University of Virginia
Lamar Hall 511  |  662-915-1965
smbarretta@olemiss.edu

William Franks

William M. Franks

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MA, University of Mississippi; MFA, University of Iowa
wmfranks@olemiss.edu

James Hill

James W. Hill

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MS, University of Mississippi
jwhill1@olemiss.edu

Cliff Holley

Clifford P. Holley

Research Associate, Center for Population Studies
Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MA, University of Mississippi
Lamar Hall 532  |  662-915-6677
saholley@olemiss.edu

Michelle Katterjohn

Michelle Katterjohn

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MA, University of Mississippi; ME, University of Mississippi
mskatter@olemiss.edu

Dianne Lindley

Dianne Lindley

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MA, University of Mississippi
Lamar Hall 511  |  662-915-1965
dlindley@olemiss.edu

Jamie Nelms

Jamie Nelms

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
MA, University of Mississippi
Lamar Hall 512  |  662-915-1377
jcnelms@olemiss.edu

Richard Thomas

Richard Thomas

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology
PhD, Vanderbilt University
Lamar Hall 510  |  662-915-7421
DeSoto Campus, Student Services Center, Suite D | 662-393-9290
rkthomas@olemiss.edu

Professors Emeriti

Vaughn Grisham

Vaughn L. Grisham

Professor Emeritus of Sociology
PhD, University of North Carolina
Lamar Hall 510  |  662-915-xxxx
vgrisham@olemiss.edu

Columbus Hooper

Columbus B. Hooper

Professor Emeritus of Sociology
PhD, Florida State University
Lamar Hall 510  |  662-915-xxxx

Gary Long

Gary Long

Professor Emeritus of Sociology
PhD, State University of New York
Lamar Hall 510  |  662-915-xxxx
salong@olemiss.edu

Max Williams

Max Warren Williams

Professor Emeritus of Sociology
PhD, Vanderbilt University
Lamar Hall 510  |  662-915-xxxx
samax@olemiss.edu