University of Mississippi

Sociology Faculty

kirstenTN

Kirsten Dellinger

Department Chair and
Associate Professor of Sociology

Ph.D. University of Texas 1998
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-7323  |  Office: Leavell 101
kdelling@olemiss.edu

combsTN

Barbara Combs

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Georgia State University 2010
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-7421 | Office: Leavell 103
bcombs@olemiss.edu

FrezzoTN

Mark Frezzo

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Binghamton University 2003
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Oxford Campus: Phone: 662-236-4990
Office: Leavell 324

DeSoto Campus: Phone: 662-393-9290
Office: Student Services Center, Suite D
mvfrezzo@olemiss.edu

Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 2.51.43 PM

John J. Green

Director, Center for Population Studies
Associate Professor of Sociology

Ph.D. University of Missouri-Columbia 2002
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-7295 | Office: Leavell 302
jjgreen@olemiss.edu

rossTN

Ross Haenfler

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. University of Colorado 2003
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
P.O. Box 1848, University, MS  38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-7338  |  Office: Leavell 204
ross@olemiss.edu

jacksonTN

Jeffrey T. Jackson

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. University of Texas 1998
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
P.O. Box 1848, University, MS  38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-5230  |  Office: Leavell Hall 205
jacksonj@olemiss.edu

KirkTN

Kirk A. Johnson

Associate Professor of Sociology
Anthropology and African American Studies
Ph.D. University of Illinois 1999
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-5977 | Office: Longstreet 305
kjohnson@olemiss.edu

willaTN

Willa M. Johnson

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Vanderbilt University 1999
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-1495 | Office: Leavell 112
willajohnson57@googlemail.com

lakeTN

Elise S. Lake

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. University of Washington 1989
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-7737 | Office: Leavell 202
salake@olemiss.edu

Photo by Kevin Bain/Ole Miss Communications

Albert Nylander

Director, McLean Institute for Public Service and Community Engagement
Professor of Sociology

Ph.D. Mississippi State University 1998
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-2052 | Office: 319 Vardaman

nylander@olemiss.edu

minjooTN

Minjoo Oh

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. SUNY Buffalo 2002
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-3454 | Office: Leavell 206
minjoo@olemiss.edu

snookTN

Jennifer Snook

Instructor of Sociology
Ph.D. University of Colorado 2008
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-6533 | Office: Leavell 316
jsnook@olemiss.edu

Sonnett_Website

John Sonnett

Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. University of Arizona 2006
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-7316 | Office: Leavell 207
sonnett@olemiss.edu

James Thomas

Visiting Assistant Professor of Sociology and Southern Studies
Ph.D. University of Missouri 2011
Department of Sociology and Anthropology

P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-7430 | Office: Leavell 203
jmthoma4@olemiss.edu

 

Professors Emeriti of Sociology

Vaughn L. Grisham
(Ph.D. North Carolina 1975)
Emeritus Professor of Sociology
Director, George McLean Institute for Community Development
Phone: 662-236-4990
E-mail: vgrisham@olemiss.edu

Columbus B. Hopper
(Ph.D. Florida State University 1964)
Emeritus Professor of Sociology
Phone: 662-234-2380

Max Warren Williams
(Ph.D. Vanderbilt University 1971)
Emeritus Professor of Sociology
Phone: 662-234-4830.
E-mail: samax@olemiss.edu

Gary Long
(Ph.D. SUNY Stony Brook 1979)
Emeritus Professor of Sociology
E-mail: salong@olemiss.edu

 

Adjunct Instructors

Scott Barretta
662-915-7421, Vardaman 110
E-mail: smbarretta@yahoo.com

William Mark Franks
E-mail: wmfranks@olemiss.edu

James W. Hill
662-915-7421
E-mail: jwhill1@olemiss.edu

Cliff Holley
662-915-6677, 301 Leavell Hall
E-mail: saholley@olemiss.edu

Michelle Katterjohn
E-mail: mskatter@olemiss.edu

Diane Lindley 
662-915-7482
E-mail: dlindley@olemiss.edu

Jamie Nelms 
662-915-7421, Vardaman 110
E-mail: jcnelms@go.olemiss.edu

 

Adjunct Research Associates

Samia El Badry
M.V. George
Mary McGhee
Jerry McKibben
Jan Mutchler
Kate O’Neil
Richard Thomas