University of Mississippi

Current Sociology Graduate Students

IMG_3483

Flint Brent 

Research Interests: Sociology of Education, Demography, Research
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
flbrent@go.olemiss.edu

 

IMG_3488

Laura Bruster 

Research Interests: Gender inequalities, Race, Ethnicity
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
lrbruste@go.olemiss.edu

IMG_3482Caroline Canarios

Research Interests: Migrant Labor Dynamics, Agriculture, Rural Food Security, Rural Sociology
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
cacanari@go.olemiss.edu

 

Jamiko Deleveaux

Research Interests: Demographics, Inequality, Urban Sociology
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
jvdeleve@go.olemiss.edu


LaTierney Frazier

Research Interests:  Criminology, Social Deviance
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
lmfrazie@go.olemiss.edu

IMG_3478Michael Ferguson 

Research Interests: Multiculturalism, Food, Poverty, and Music (Blues)
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
mbfergus@go.olemiss.edu

 

Sarah Gayden Harris

Research Interests:  Community-Based Research, Social Problems and Population Health (specifically, preterm birth in the Mississippi Delta region)
Phone: 601-927-2254 | Office: Vardaman 119
sgharri1@go.olemiss.edu

Kristen An Horton

Research Interests: Sociology of Religion, Sociology of Law, Inequality, Race/Class/Gender, Culture
Phone:  | Office:
kahorto1@go.olemiss.edu

IMG_3486Arthur Hosey Jr. 

Research Interests: Education and Socioeconomics
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
ahosey@go.olemiss.edu

 


Hugh Jones

Research Interests: Social Movements, Impacts of Western “Development” Networks, Globalization, Political Sociology
Phone: 208-301-3001  | Office: Vardaman 119
hajones1@go.olemiss.edu

Vanessa Parks

Research Interests: Globalization, Gender studies, Socioeconomics, Social Media
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
vparks@go.olemiss.edu

Elizabeth Parsels

Research interests: Africana studies, music, and generational studies
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
eparsels@olemiss.edu

Alice Sacks

Research Interests: Social Movements and Human Rights
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
acsacks@go.olemiss.edu

IMG_3485Itsuka Takamune

Research Interests: Media, Race
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
itakamun@go.olemiss.edu

 

IMG_3477Veda Taylor 

Research Interests:
Phone: 662-915-7141 | Office: Vardaman 119
vedat@olemiss.edu

 

IMG_3487Chynna Turner 

Research Interests: Gender inequalities, gender roles
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
cturner3@go.olemiss.edu

Noah Webb

Research Interests:  Education; Globalization; Quantitative Research; Social Inequality
Phone: 662-915-8834 | Office: Vardaman 119
nwebb@go.olemiss.edu