University of Mississippi

Current Anthropology Graduate Students


Nick Billstrand

nrbillst@olemiss.edu


John Bowler

Research Interests: Maya and SE Native American political economy, settlement pattern studies and analysis through spatial statistics in GIS
jbowler@go.olemiss.edu

Hamilton Bryant
Hamilton H. Bryant III

Research Interests: Southeastern Archaeology/ Ethnohistory, GIS, Geophysical Prospection, Ceramic Analysis
hhbryant@go.olemiss.edu


Dalton Capps

Research Interests: Warfare, Lithics, Social Organization, Archaeology
rdcapps@go.olemiss.edu
Lamar 548


Emily L. Clark

Research Interests: Archaeology of the southeast, landscape archaeology, late prehistoric and contact archaeology
elclark1@go.olemiss.edu

IMG_3492
Gabrielle Coggin

Research Interests: Archaeology
gdcoggin@go.olemiss.edu


Susie Davidson

Research Interests: Cultural Anthropology, antebellum and reconstruction
srdavids@olemiss.edu

Raymond Doherty
Raymond Doherty

Research Interests: Southeastern Indians, Chickasaw, Historic Archaeology
rdoherty@go.olemiss.edu


Dwayne Ford

Research Interests: Japanese Culture and Medical Anthropology
dford1@go.olemiss.edu


Blake Gardner

Research interests: Cultural Anthropology
gbgardn1@go.olemiss.edu


Timothy Harris

Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, counterculture, festivals
dharmabummedd@gmail.com

Kris Holsen

Research Interests: Historic Archaeology
dkholsen@olemiss.edu

Anna Huerkamp
Anna Marie Huerkamp

Research Interests: Cultural Anthropology, Rural Ecuedorian Andean Highlands
amhuerka@go.olemiss.edu


Nikki Mattson

Research Interests: Southeastern Native American archaeology, ceramics, lithics, community outreach, public archaeology
lnwade@olemiss.edu
Lamar 548


Grace Meyers

Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, foodways
gemeyers@olemiss.edu

IMG_3476
Spencer Oliver

Research Interests: Bio-Archaeology, GPR
soliver@go.olemiss.edu

Stephanie Orsini
Stephanie R. Orsini

Interests: Zooarchaeology, Maya
sorsini@go.olemiss.edu


Melissa Quartarone

Research interests: Archaeological chemistry
mlquarta@olemiss.edu

Joshua Shiers
Joshua Shiers

Research interests: Southeast United States, Mississippi & Colonial
jshiers@go.olemiss.edu


Nathan Shreve

Research Interests: Overhill Cherokee, protohistoric, fur trade, first contact, Cherokee origins
nkshreve@go.olemiss.edu


Allie Smith

Research Interests: southeastern archaeology, prehistoric archaeology, historical archaeology, geographic information systems (GIS)
asmith11@go.olemiss.edu

Kenneth Smith
Kenneth Smith

Research Interests: Historical Archaeology, Southeastern Archaeology, Prehistoric Archaeology
ksmith5@go.olemiss.edu


Robert Waren

Research Interests: Historical Archaeology in the South, Southeastern Archaeology
rlwaren@go.olemiss.edu


Emily J. Warner

Research Interests: Ceramics, Southeastern archaeology
ewarner@go.olemiss.edu

IMG_3481
Arlissa Whisenant

Research Interests: Cultural Anthropology, Linguistics, Latin America and Caribbean Studies
ansneed@go.olemiss.edu


Nick Wood

Research Interests:  Archaeology of the Greater Southeast (focusing on Archaic and Woodland time periods, with special attention to social complexity and inequality)
nwood@go.olemiss.edu