University of Mississippi

Current Anthropology Graduate Students


Nick Billstrand

nrbillst@olemiss.edu

 

John Bowler

Research Interests: Maya and SE Native American political economy, settlement pattern studies and analysis through spatial statistics in GIS
Office:  Leavell 303

jbowler@go.olemiss.edu

Whitney Broughton

Research Interests:  Bioarchaeology and Mortuary Practices
Phone:  573-579-6787

wnbrough@go.olemiss.edu

 

IMG_3480Sam Butz

Research Interests: CRM, Public Archaeology, Geophysical Testing, Prehistoric Southeast
Office:  Leavell 303
sbutz@go.olemiss.edu

 

IMG_3492Gabrielle Coggin

Research Interests: Archaeology
Office:  Leavell 303
gdcoggin@go.olemiss.edu

 

Erika Carpenter

eccarpen@olemiss.edu

Joseph Culen

jpculen@olemiss.edu

Travis Cureton

Research Interests: Ecology, Pyrotechnology, Southwestern Archaeology

traviscureton@hotmail.com

Blake Gardner

Research interests: Cultural Anthropology

gbgardn1@go.olemiss.edu

Amanda Fisher

Research Interests: Historic Landscape Archaeology

afisher3@olemiss.edu

Kim Harrison

Interests: 18th century Southern and Caribbean archaeology, hopefully one day branching out into Nautical Archaeology
Phone: 573-368-8224

knharri1@olemiss.edu

Kris Holsen

Interests: Historic Archaeology

dkholsen@olemiss.edu

Morgan Isaacs

Research Interests: Bioarchaeology, Osteology, Physical Anthropology

isaacs.morgan@gmail.com

 

Richard Kyle

Research Interests: Southeastern Archaeology and Contact Era

rikyle@olemiss.edu

Paul Martin

Interests: The application of geophysics to the detection of human burials and the partnering of cadaver dogs with GPR in mapping of historic cemeteries.  Scavenging and scattering of human remains.
Phone:  662-394-0890

psmartin@go.olemiss.edu

IMG_3479Todd McLeod

Research Interests: Southeastern Archaeology, Cultural Resource Management
Office:  Leavell 303
tmcleod@go.olemiss.edu

 

Dane Alexander O’Leary


daoleary@olemiss.edu

IMG_3476Spencer Oliver

Research Interests: Bio-Archaeology, GPR
Office:  Leavell 303
soliver@go.olemiss.edu

 

Emily Smithey

Research interests: Culture, Native American Anthropology

epsmithe@go.olemiss.edu

Hanna Stewart

Research interests: Bioarchaeology
Phone:  609-468-2370

hannastewart20@gmail.com

Tanna Olivier Tan

totan@olemiss.edu

Elaine Tolbert


etolbert@olemiss.edu

IMG_3491Jacob Waalk

Research Interests: Cultural Media, Japan, Linguistic Anthropology, Gender and Sexuality
Office:  Leavell 303
jawaalk@gmail.com

 

LeeAnne Wendt

Research Interests:  Southeastern Archaeology with a focus on the Mississippian time period

lwendt@go.olemiss.edu

IMG_3481Arlissa Whisenant

Research Interests: Cultural Anthropology, Linguistics, Latin America and Caribbean Studies
Office:  Leavell 303
ansneed@go.olemiss.edu

 

Nick Wood

Research Interests:  Archaeology of the Greater Southeast.  Focusing on Archaic and Woodland time periods, with special attention to social complexity and inequality

nwood@go.olemiss.edu